Speech & Language Therapy for Children | Aspris UAE

علاج النطق واللغة في أبو ظبي ودبي

علاج النطق واللغة (SLT) وهو علاج متخصص للأطفال الذين يعانون من صعوبات النطق واللغة والتواصل. حيث يساعد علاج النطق واللغة في التواصل وتحسين جميع جوانب حياة الطفل. (كما يعمل في بعض الاحيان أيضا معالجو النطق واللغة لدينا مع الاطفال الذين يعانون من صعوبات في الاكل أو البلع).

يعاني طفل واحد من كل 11 طفلاً بعمر 5 سنوات من صعوبة في النطق واللغة. وتعد احتياجات الكلام واللغة أكثر أنواع الاحتياجات التعليمية الخاصة شيوعًا لدى الأطفال الذين تتراوح أعمارهم ما بين 4-11 عامًا.

والجدير بالذكر أن اضطرابات الكلام واللغة احياناً ما توجد من تلقاء نفسها (أولية) وأحيانا ما تكون مصاحبة لحالات أخرى مثل التوحد والإعاقة الذهنية ومتلازمة داون (ثانوية).

يمكن لأخصائي النطق واللغة لدينا العمل مع الأطفال والشباب حتى سن 17 عامًا. كما من الناحية المثالية، يجب أن يبدأ العلاج في أقرب وقت ممكن فكلما كان الطفل أصغر سنًا كانت النتائج أفضل.

عند العمل مع الأطفال والعائلات، يقوم أخصائيو النطق واللغة لدينا بما يلي:

  • القيام بإجراء تقييم شامل لاحتياجات الطفل في الكلام واللغة والتواصل بما في ذلك التقييمات المتخصصة إذا لزم الأمر
  • تطوير خطط علاج شخصية
  • العمل عن كثب مع الاسرة لتنفيذ البرامج المنزلية
  • التعاون مع المدارس وتقديم المشورة لهم لدعم احتياجات التواصل والخطة العلاجية الخاصة بالطفل
  • الرجوع الى المتخصصين الآخرين اذا لزم الامر

كيفة عمل علاج النطق واللغة؟

يعمل اخصائيو النطق واللغة لدينا مع الطفل بشكل فردي أو في مجموعة صغيرة كما يعملون بشكل وثيق مع والدي الطفل.

عادةً ما يقدمون إحدى أو كل من التدخلات التالية:

  • الأنشطة اللغوية:يتفاعل أخصائي علاج النطق واللغة مع الطفل ويتواصل معه من خلال اللعب والتحدث باستخدام الصور أو الكتب أو بعض الادوات لتحفيز تطور اللغة عنده. كما يقوم الاخصائي بتمارين مع الطفل لبناء المهارات اللغوية.
  • أنشطة النطق:يقوم أخصائي النطق واللغة بإعطاء نموذج وإظهار الأصوات والمقاطع الصحيحة في الكلمات والجمل للطفل، غالبًا أثناء أنشطة اللعب. كما يوضح الأخصائي للطفل كيفية إصدار أصوات مُعيّنة يعاني منها الطفل.
  • أنشطة الطلاقة:يعمل معالج النطق واللغة على تحسين الطلاقة وتقنيات تعديل التلعثم من أجل السماح للفرد باكتساب المزيد من الثقة في قدراته على التواصل. ويتم ذلك من خلال أنشطة ممتعة تتناسب مع عمر الطفل واهتماماته.
  • أنشطة القدرات المعرفية عالية المستوى: اللغة هي إحدى القدرات المعرفية للفرد. يعتمد اكتسابها بشكل كبير على المهارات المعرفية الأخرى. واعتمادًا على الصعوبات المذكورة، يقوم أخصائي النطق واللغة بتحفيز القدرات المتعلقة باللغة للسماح باكتساب اللغة الشفوية والمكتوبة بشكل أفضل.
  • الأنشطة الحركية للفم: قد يستخدم أخصائي النطق واللغة مجموعة متنوعة من التمارين الفموية بما في ذلك تمارين اللسان والشفاه والفك المختلفة لتقوية عضلات الفم. ويتم اختيار الأنشطة بعناية لتحفيز نفس الحركات المستخدمة في إنتاج الكلام.
  • أنشطة الإلمام بالقراءة والكتابة: يدعم أخصائي النطق واللغة الطفل من خلال تقديم أساليب مختلفة لاكتساب استراتيجيات الخطابات والقراءة والكتابة بأكثر الطرق متعة وسهولة.

أنواع اضطرابات النطق واللغة التي يتم علاجها في مركز برايوري

  • اضطراب النطق: مشاكل في إصدار الأصوات أو نطق الكلمات بشكل غير صحيح بحيث يصعب أحيانًا أو في كثير من الأحيان فهم ما يقوله الطفل.
  • اضطراب الطلاقة: مشاكل في تدفق الكلام مثل التلعثم.
  • اضطراب اللغة المُستقبَلة: يكافح الطفل للوصول إلى معنى ما يقال له. قد يعاني الطفل من مشاكل في فهم اللغة أو معالجتها.
  • اضطراب اللغة التعبيرية: صعوبة في إنتاج اللغة للتواصل بشكل فعال. قد يواجه الأطفال الذين يعانون من اضطراب اللغة التعبيرية صعوبة في العثور على كلماتهم ولديهم مفردات محدودة ويجدون صعوبة في تطبيق القواعد النحوية في جملهم.
  • صعوبات عملية: ترتبط هذه الصعوبات باستخدام اللغة في سياق اجتماعي. يمكن للأطفال الذين يواجهون صعوبات عملية في كثير من الأحيان تكوين جمل صحيحة نحويًا ولكن لا يتم استخدامها في السياق الصحيح مع الأشخاص المناسبين.
  • اضطرابات القراءة والكتابة: قد يواجه الأطفال الذين يعانون من مشاكل في اللغة الشفوية أو بدونها صعوبات في اكتساب القراءة والكتابة لأسباب عديدة. في هذه الحالة قد يخلطون بين الحروف المتشابهة شفهيًا أو بصريًا، ويجدون صعوبة في تطبيق القواعد النحوية ويكونون مقيدون في الكتابة وفهم المعلومات المقروءة.

هل يحتاج طفلي الى أخصائي النطق واللغة؟

إذا كان طفلك يعاني من أي من الصعوبات التالية، فمن المحتمل أن يكون علاج النطق واللغة مفيدًا:

  • عدم الاستجابة للضوضاء المفاجئة في سن 3 إلى 4 أشهر
  • لا يناغي بعمر 9 شهور
  • عدم الاشارة ليظهر للكبار شيئا بعمر 12 شهرا
  • عدم استخدام 20 كلمة على الأقل قبل بلوغ سن 18 شهرًا
  • عدم إبداء الاهتمام بالآخرين من حوله في سن الثانية
  • التحلي بالانتقائية في الأكل
  • عدم الاهتمام بالكتب أو الألعاب أو اللعب التي يتم لعبها مع شخص آخر
  • عدم وضع كلمتين معًا بشكل متسق عند بلوغ عامين من العمر
  • عدم فهمه بنسبة 50٪ على الأقل من قبل أشخاص مألوفين أو غير مألوفين من حوله بحلول سن العامين
  • عدم القدرة على الإجابة على أسئلة بسيطة
  • الحاجة إلى دعم إيمائي أو تبسيط الرسالة لفهمها
  • تكرار الجمل والأسئلة
  • سيلان اللعاب بشكل متكرر
  • تكرار الأصوات أو الكلمات أو العبارات أثناء الحديث، مما يؤثر على سيولة حديثه
  • لا يصدر أصوات الكلام بدقة
  • عدم القدرة على وضع حركتين معًا للإخبار بقصة قصيرة أثناء اللعب بعمر 3 سنوات
  • عدم القدرة على رواية قصة قصيرة عند بلوغ 4 سنوات
  • الخلط بين الحروف في القراءة و/ أو الكتابة

يجب أن يبدأ العلاج في أسرع وقت ممكن. حيث يميل الأطفال الذين يبدؤون العلاج مبكرًا إلى تحقيق نتائج أفضل من أولئك الذين يبدؤون العلاج في وقت لاحق. إلا أن هذا لا يعني أن الأطفال الأكبر سنًا لن يحصلوا على نتائج جيدة في العلاج ، ولكن تقدمهم قد يكون أبطأ.

ماذا سيحدث بمجرد أن يأتي طفلي إلى قسم النطق واللغة في بريوري؟

  • الاستشارة الأولية:
    في زيارتك الأولى، سيتم إجراء استشارة أولية من طرف الاخصائي. وخلال هذا الاجتماع يقوم أخصائي النطق بجمع معلومات عن المريض. يساعد المريض المعالج في تحديد الصعوبات الرئيسية والحكم على ما إذا كان يمكن بدء العلاج على الفور أو إذا كانت هناك حاجة إلى مزيد من التقييم.
    تعتبر استشارة القبول خطوة مهمة لمساعدة كل من الأسرة والطبيب على التعرف على بعضهما البعض، حيث يجب أن يكونا شريكين نشطين أثناء العلاج.
  • التقييم المنَظَم:
    اذا كانت هناك حاجة إلى التقييم الرسمي بعد استشارة القبول، فسيتم إجراء الاختبارات كجزء من التقييم الشامل للجوانب المختلفة للتواصل. ففي مركز بريوري، نستخدم أدوات اختبار موحدة رسمية جنبًا إلى جنب مع ملاحظات الطبيب. وإن دمج كليهما مهِم في رؤية الطفل بشكل كُلي وكذلك احترام خصوصياته الثقافية واللغوية.
    ينتهي التقييم بتقرير مكتوب شامل يقدم للعائلة، يجمع كل النتائج التي توصل إليها.
  • العلاج النفسي:
    يبدأ العلاج عادةً بتحديد أهداف العلاج. وتتم مراجعة هذه الأهداف بشكل دوري، اعتمادًا على احتياجات وتحديات الطفل بالإضافة إلى تحسينه وتعليقات الأسرة.

لمزيد من المعلومات حول خدمات الأطفال والشباب لدينا، اتصل اليوم على: (+971) 4 245 3800 (دبي) / (+971) 2 651 8111 (أبو ظبي) أو أرسل نموذج استفسار وبطريقة آمنة. سنزودك بالتفاصيل عن جميع علاجاتنا ونقدم لك المساعدة حول كيفية دعم الصحة العقلية لطفلك أو المراهق ورفاهيتهم.

الدكتور عتيق قريشي ، مسؤول خدمات الصحة العقلية للأطفال والمراهقين / استشاري الطب النفسي
تمت مراجعة هذه الصفحة إكلينيكيًا من قبل الدكتور عتيق قريشي (MBBS, MRCPsych)  في يوليو 2021 ، ومن المقرر مراجعتها مرة أخرى في يوليو 2023. الدكتور عتيق قريشي هو استشاري أول في الطب النفسي للأطفال والمراهقين يتمتع بخبرة 15 عامًا في الصحة الوطنية بالمملكة المتحدة خدمة وثلاث سنوات في وزارة الصحة ووقاية المجتمع بدولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة. مشاهدة ملف دكتور عتيق الشخصي الكامل هنا.

Speech & Language Therapy for Children | Aspris UAE

Speech and Language Therapy in Abu Dhabi and Dubai

Speech and Language Therapy (SLT) is a specialist treatment for children who have difficulties with speech, language, and communication. Speech therapy for kids helps children to communicate better, improving all aspects of the child’s life. (Sometimes, speech and language therapists also work with children with eating or swallowing difficulties).

Almost 1 in 11 children, aged 5 years, have speech and language difficulties. Speech and language needs are the commonest types of special educational needs in children aged 4-11 years old. 

Speech and language disorders are sometimes seen on their own (primary) and at other times accompanying other conditions such as Autism, Intellectual disability, and Down’s syndrome (secondary).

Our speech therapists can work with children and young people up to the age of 17 years. Ideally, treatment should be started as early as possible, and the younger the child, the better the outcomes.

In working with children and families, our speech and language therapy will:

  • Carry out a thorough assessment of a child’s speech, language, and communication needs, including specialist assessments if required.
  • Develop personalized therapy plans
  • Work closely with the family to implement home programs
  • Collaborate with and provide advice to schools to support the child’s communication needs and therapy plan
  • Refer to other professionals if needed

How does speech therapy for kids work?

Our speech and language therapists work with a child individually or in small groups. They work closely with the child’s parents.

They usually provide one or both of the following interventions:

  • Language activities: The SLT will interact and communicate with a child by playing and talking using pictures, books or objects to stimulate language development. They will do exercises with the child to build language skills.
  • Articulation activities: The SLT will model and demonstrate correct sounds and syllables in words and sentences for a child, often during play activities. The SLT will show the child how to make specific sounds that the child is struggling with.
  • Fluency activities: The SLT will work on delayed speech and fluency enhancement and stuttering modification techniques in order to allow the individual to gain more confidence in his communication abilities. This will be done through fun activities adjusted to the age and interests of the child.
  • Higher-level cognitive abilities activities: Language is one of the person’s cognitive abilities; its acquisition is highly dependent on other cognitive skills. Depending on the difficulties noted, the SLP will stimulate the abilities pertaining to language to allow better oral and written language acquisition.
  • Oral Motor activities: SLT therapy may use a variety of oral exercises — including various tongue, lip, and jaw exercises — to strengthen the muscles of the mouth. The activities are carefully selected to stimulate the same movements used for speech production.
  • Literacy Activities: the children’s speech therapist will support the child by introducing different approaches to acquiring letters, reading, and writing strategies, in the most fun and easy way.

Types of speech and Language Disorders treated at Aspris

  • Articulation disorder: Problems with making sounds or saying words incorrectly such that it is sometimes or often difficult to understand what the child is saying.
  • Fluency disorder: Problems with the flow of speech such as seen in stuttering
  • Receptive language disorder: The child struggles to get the meaning of what is said to them. The child may have problems with understanding or processing language.
  • Expressive language disorder: A difficulty with producing language to communicate effectively. Children with expressive language disorder may have difficulty finding their words, have a limited vocabulary, and find difficulty applying grammatical rules in their sentences.
  • Pragmatic difficulties: these difficulties are related to the use of language in a social context. Children presenting with pragmatic difficulties often can form grammatically correct sentences, yet not used in the right context with the appropriate people.
  • Reading and writing disorders: children with or without oral language problems can have difficulties in acquiring reading and writing due to numerous reasons. In this case, they might confuse orally/ visually alike letters, have difficulty applying grammatical rules, and be informative in writing and understanding information read.

Does my child need speech and language therapy?

If your child has any of the following difficulties, SLT therapy  is likely to be of help:

  • Not reacting to sudden noise by 3 to 4 months
  • Not babbling by the age of 9 months
  • Not pointing to show the adult something by the age of 12 months
  • Not using at least 20 words by the age of 18 months
  • Not showing interest in others around him at the age of 2 years
  • Showing selectivity in eating
  • Lacking interest in books, games, or toys played with another person
  • Not putting consistently two words together by the age of 2 years
  • Not being understood at least 50% of the time by either familiar or less familiar people around him by the age of 2 years
  • Not being able to answer simple questions
  • Needing gestural support or simplification of a message to understand
  • Repeating recurrently sentences and questions
  • Drooling frequently
  • Repeating sounds, words, or phrases while talking, affects the fluidity of his speech
  • Not producing speech sounds accurately
  • Not putting two actions together to make a short story during play, by the age of 3 years
  • Not being able to tell a short story by the age of 4 years
  • Confusing between letters in reading and/or writing

Speech and language therapy should begin as soon as possible, that’s why we highly advise speech therapy for toddlers. Children who start therapy earlier tend to have better results than those who begin later. This doesn't mean that older children won't do well in therapy, but their progress might be slower.

What will happen once my child comes to the Aspris Speech and Language Department?

  • Intake consultation: On your first visit, an intake consultation will take place with the therapist. During this meeting, the speech therapist will gather information about the patient. The intake will help the therapist identify the main difficulties and to judge whether therapy can be started straightaway or if further assessment is required.
    The intake consultation is an important step to help both the family and the clinician get to know each other, as they shall be active partners during therapy.
  • Structured Assessment: If the intake consultation highlights a need for formal assessment, tests will be carried out as part of a comprehensive evaluation of the different aspects of communication. At the Aspris, we use formal standardized testing tools along with clinicians’ observations. Merging both is important in seeing the child holistically as well as respecting their cultural and linguistic specificities.
    The assessment ends with a thorough written report presented to the family, compiling all its findings.
  • Therapy: Therapy usually starts with setting up therapy goals. These goals will be revised periodically, depending on the needs and challenges of the child as well as his/her improvement and the feedback of the family.

Book an assessment today and receive effective treatment for your child.

For further information about our Children and Adolescent Services call today at: (+971) 4 245 3800 (Dubai) / (+971) 2 651 8111 (Abu Dhabi) or submit an inquiry form in confidence. We will provide you with details on all our treatments and offer help on how to support your child's or teenager's mental health and well-being.

Dr Ateeq Qureshi, Lead for Child and Adolescent Mental Health Service / Consultant Psychiatrist
This page was clinically reviewed by Dr Ateeq Qureshi (MBBS, MRCPsych) in July 2021, and is scheduled to be reviewed again in July 2023. Dr Ateeq Qureshi is a senior Consultant Child and Adolescent Psychiatrist with 15 years of experience in the UK National Health Service and 3 years in the Ministry of Health and Prevention, UAE. View Dr Ateeq's full profile here.